Mini-Symposia 2024-2025 Schedule

Mini Symposia and Open Mic Session 2024-2025
 
Welcome to a new season of Mini Symposia! 
 
We have created a new page for this season so please check back regularly for developments in schedule and recordings.  
 
The schedule is being developed so if you have any suggestions for speakers, please email me at president@isss.org 
 
This year, we plan to host sessions at different times to meet the needs of our international membership and presenters. As a result, please confirm the weekly times as they may change. 
 
ISSS President - Gary Smith 
 
Upcoming Mini Symposia Presentations
 
Please Note: This page will contain information on the next session, and the previous sessions. We are filling our Mini Symposia spots on an ongoing basis so please check the ISSS Events Calendar for the most up to date schedule. 
 
As the schedule develops, check https://www.isss.org/calenda
 
Saturday July 27th 
 
Los Angeles, USA          Sat, 27 Jul 2024 at 07:00 PDT
New York, USA             Sat, 27 Jul 2024 at 10:00 EDT
London, United Kingdom    Sat, 27 Jul 2024 at 15:00 BST
Hong Kong, Hong Kong      Sat, 27 Jul 2024 at 22:00 HKT
Sydney, Australia         Sun, 28 Jul 2024 at 00:00 AEST
 
Plans for Systems Education
 
Clifford Whitcomb 
 
Meet newly elected ISSS VP Education, Clifford Whitcomb as he shares his vision for systems education. 
 
Learn more about Clifford here
 
 
Saturday July 6th
 
Los Angeles, USA          Sat, Jul 6, 2024 at 9:00 am PDT
New York, USA             Sat, Jul 6, 2024 at 12:00 noon EDT
London, United Kingdom    Sat, Jul 6, 2024 at 5:00 pm BST
Sydney, Australia         Sun, Jul 7, 2024 at 2:00 am AEST
 
A General Theory of Systemness (Not Systems)
 
George E. Mobus
 
 
Abstract
 
This paper proposes a somewhat different approach to the notion of there being a general theory of systems (GST) as originally proposed by von Bertalanffy (1969). The difference hinges on the use of the neologism ‘systemness’  as opposed to the generally used term ‘system.’ In this approach I will assert that there exists a primary set of conjoined and interrelated general attributes (and properties?) that constitute a holistic and, it is hoped, complete description of what it means to be a system, hence “systemness.” The attempt will be made to argue that this set of attributes constitutes a necessary and (potentially) sufficient means to describe or construct a ‘thing’ that every observer would agree is and a system. Thus, using this set of attributes analysts can decompose, without losing information, an existing system of any arbitrary complexity to grasp a deep understanding of something previously not understood (i.e., have predictable behavior) or engineers/practitioners can design functional/sustainable systems.
The theoretical framework advanced here can be applied to anything that one might regard a system, it provides an explanation for the ontogenesis of systems, in general, and it provides an explanation for how being a system is what leads to the next iteration of system construction, higher levels of organization, and greater complexity. The growth of organization and complexity, in direct contradiction to the Second Law of Thermodynamics, is a natural consequence of being a “successful” system, i.e., having its existence for some duration.
 
The paper is a precis of my book, “Systems Science: Theory, Analysis, Modeling, and Design.”
 
Please find a link to George's book here https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-030-93482-8

 
Saturday June 29th 
 
2 am Eastern Time: ISSS President Gary Smith: Towards an Integrated Framework for Systems Science 
 
 
During this session Gary will present his strategy and vision for his term and how it relates to an integrated framework for systems science.